You are here


On the 22 June 1874 Andrew Taylor Still christened his newly discovered principles "Osteopathy"

In 1892, he founded the first school of osteopathy in Kirksville in the state of Missouri (USA).

In 1896, the state of Vermont , slowly but surely followed in wake of other states by legally recognizing osteopathy.

On 30 and 31 May 1986 the Première Convention Européenne et Internationale de Médecine Ostéopathique was held in Brussels. The convention included all the representatives of the osteopathic associations and schools of osteopathic medecine.

In 1987 the I.A.O. opens the first school of osteopathy in Germany.

On May 29th 1997 the European Parliament recognised four non-conventional medicines: acupuncture, homeopathy, chiropractic, and osteopathic medicine.